How Much Data Do You Really Need in the USA? What "Unlimited" Means on US SIMs and eSIMs
On this page
Last verified: 1 November 2026. Plan terms were read on provider pages on this date. We have not measured data use or speeds ourselves.
Short answer.
- How many GB: two phone-company blogs give about 0.5 GB a day for light use, about 1 GB for moderate use and 2 GB or more for heavy use (GigSky, Lyca Mobile). These are vendor estimates, not our tests. Video is the swing factor.
- "Unlimited" always has a limit somewhere. Check four places: premium data, daily caps, hotspot caps and video quality. The fine-print table lists them for 20 offers.
- One phone check: the exact model number decides which bands your phone can use. See Will your phone get the full network?
Disclosure. Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them, prepayzo.com may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We rank options by trip-length fit and total cost, we list downsides for every option (including the ones that pay us), and we include options that pay us nothing. Prices were checked on the date shown at the top of this page and can change.
Quick answer: GB per day and per trip
Use this formula:
GB needed = days × GB per day × 1.2
The 1.2 adds a 20% buffer. That buffer is our rule of thumb, not a provider figure. The daily numbers below are third-party estimates. Replace them with your own if you know them.
| Profile | What you do | GB per day (estimate) | 7 days | 14 days | 30 days |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Light | Maps, messages, email. Wi-Fi at the hotel | 0.5 | 4.2 GB | 8.4 GB | 18 GB |
| Moderate | Social media, photo uploads, some video, music | 1 | 8.4 GB | 16.8 GB | 36 GB |
| Heavy | Daily video, video calls, no hotel Wi-Fi | 2 | 16.8 GB | 33.6 GB | 72 GB |
| Tethering a laptop | Calls, cloud documents, hotspot | 3 | 25.2 GB | 50.4 GB | 108 GB |
Last verified: 1 November 2026. Sums calculated by script. Sources for 0.5, 1 and 2 GB: GigSky and Lyca Mobile (vendor blogs). The 3 GB figure for tethering is an assumption. Jetpac, a vendor blog, says "around 3 GB per day" for remote work, but gives smaller totals for week and month trips. Treat 3 GB as a rough planning number only.
For tips on picking a plan once you know your number, see the total cost of each option for 7, 14 and 30 days. Our rule of thumb: for maps and messages, a 3 to 5 GB plan covers about a week. Do not pay for "unlimited" unless you stream video most days.
What actually uses your data
Video uses far more than anything else. Here are official figures where they exist.
| Activity | Official figure | GB per hour | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Netflix, Low | up to 0.3 GB per hour | 0.3 | Netflix |
| Netflix, Medium | up to 0.7 GB per hour | 0.7 | Netflix |
| Netflix, High, standard definition | up to 1 GB per hour | 1 | Netflix |
| Netflix, High, HD | up to 3 GB per hour | 3 | Netflix |
| Netflix, 4K | up to 7 GB per hour | 7 | Netflix |
| Netflix mobile "Save Data" | about 6 hours per GB | about 0.17 | Netflix |
| Zoom 1:1, high-quality video | 600 kbps up and down | 0.54 (both directions) | Zoom |
| Zoom 1:1, 720p HD | 1.2 Mbps up and down | 1.08 (both directions) | Zoom |
| Zoom, audio only | 60–80 kbps | 0.054–0.072 (both directions) | Zoom |
| Spotify, Normal | about 96 kbit/s | 0.043 | Spotify |
| Spotify, High | about 160 kbit/s | 0.072 | Spotify |
| Spotify, Very high | about 320 kbit/s | 0.144 | Spotify |
| Google Maps navigation | No official figure found | measure it | |
| Instagram or TikTok video | No official figure found | measure it | |
| WhatsApp calls | No official figure checked | measure it |
Last verified: 1 November 2026. Conversion for Zoom and Spotify: GB per hour = Mbps × 3600 ÷ 8 ÷ 1000, computed by script. For Zoom the figure counts both directions. Spotify's page lists these rates for Premium; it gives no official MB per hour.
Two points matter most:
- Video is the swing factor. One hour of Netflix at HD can use up to 3 GB. At the "Save Data" setting, 3 GB lasts about 18 hours (3 × 6). A daily 3 GB cap on a travel eSIM is therefore about one hour of HD video.
- Hotspot multiplies use. A laptop on your phone's hotspot can use data much faster than the phone alone. We have no official figure for that, so watch your first hour.
Google Maps itself is light, but we could not find an official number. Download offline maps on Wi-Fi to cut navigation data. Google's steps are: tap your profile picture, then Offline maps, then Select your own map. Offline maps expire. They update by themselves on Wi-Fi if they expire within 15 days (Google).
The five kinds of limit on US plans
Premium data and deprioritisation
Premium data is the amount you get at top priority. After it, you stay online. Your speed may drop when the cell tower is busy. If the tower is quiet, you may notice nothing.
- T-Mobile Prepaid Unlimited has 50 GB of premium data. After that, speeds may be slower during congestion (T-Mobile).
- Mint: over 50 GB, speeds may be reduced "when our network is busy" (Mint).
- Tello: 50 GB at full speed, then slowed (Tello).
Hard throttles
A hard throttle is a fixed low speed. It does not depend on the tower.
- T-Mobile Prepaid Starter: after 15 GB, speeds are slowed to up to 2G for the rest of the service period (T-Mobile support terms).
- Verizon Prepaid 15 GB: 2G speeds after the allowance (Verizon).
- Cricket Sensible 10 GB: 128 kbps after 10 GB (Cricket).
- eSIM by AT&T hotspot: max 128 kbps after the hotspot allowance (AT&T).
Daily caps
Some travel eSIMs limit data per day. Airalo: 3 GB a day at 20 Mbps. Saily: 5 GB a day, then up to 1 Mbps. Airalo does not state the speed after the cap.
Multiply to see the total. A 15-day Airalo pass gives 3 × 15 = 45 GB of full-speed data. The same pass over 7 days gives 21 GB. A day you do not use does not carry over.
Video-quality caps
Many US plans stream video at standard definition, to save network capacity.
- T-Mobile U.S. Pass: video in SD (T-Mobile).
- Visible: "up to 480 SD" on the Visible plan (Visible).
- Mint: "SD" on the plans page and "~480p" on the why-Mint page.
- Verizon: its own pages disagree. Some panels say up to 480p. The plan cards and the BYOD page mention 4K on 5G Ultra Wideband.
SD saves data. If you want HD, read this column before you buy.
Hotspot (tethering) caps
Hotspot allowances run from none to 50 GB, and the speed after the cap runs from 128 kbps to 3 Mbps. Details are in the next table. T-Mobile's U.S. Pass gives 14 GB for 7 days, 20 GB for 10 days and 28 GB for 14 days. That is 2 GB a day on each plan (14 ÷ 7, 20 ÷ 10, 28 ÷ 14).
Plan-by-plan fine print
How to read the table: "High-speed amount" is what the plan says it gives before any slowdown. "After the cap" is what the provider says happens next. A dash means we could not read the point on a provider page. Where two pages of one provider disagree, we show both.
| Plan (price seen) | High-speed amount | After the cap | Video | Hotspot |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| T-Mobile U.S. Pass ($25 / 7 d, $30 / 10 d, $35 / 14 d, + tax) | Unlimited 5G, 50 GB premium | May be slower in congestion | SD | 14 / 20 / 28 GB, then 3G |
| T-Mobile Prepaid Starter ($40 with AutoPay, $45 first month) | 15 GB | Up to 2G speeds | — | Shares the 15 GB |
| T-Mobile Prepaid Unlimited ($45 with AutoPay, $50 first month) | 50 GB premium | Slower in congestion | — | Unlimited at 3G |
| T-Mobile Prepaid Unlimited Plus ($60 with AutoPay, $65 first month) | 50 GB premium | Slower in congestion | — | 5 GB high-speed, then max 3G |
| eSIM by AT&T (from $3.99) | "Unlimited" | "May temporarily slow" when busy | — | 5 GB, then max 128 kbps (terms and marketing page). The support page says "5 to 15 GB" |
| Verizon Prepaid 15 GB ($35 with AutoPay) | 15 GB | 2G speeds | 480p or 4K (pages differ) | From the plan allowance |
| Verizon Prepaid Unlimited ($50 with AutoPay) | Unlimited | — | 480p or 4K (pages differ) | 5 GB, then up to 600 kbps |
| Verizon Prepaid Unlimited Plus ($60 with AutoPay) | 50 GB premium | — | 480p or 4K (pages differ) | 25 GB premium, then 3 Mbps on 5G Ultra Wideband, 600 kbps otherwise |
| Visible ($25, tax included) | Unlimited | — | Up to 480 SD | Unlimited at 5 Mbps (10 Mbps Visible+, 15 Mbps Pro) |
| Visible eSIM Travel Pass ($25 / 7 d and up, press release) | — | — | — | — |
| Mint Unlimited ($90 for 3 months, then $40) | Unlimited | Over 50 GB, reduced when busy | SD or ~480p (pages differ) | "Up to 20 GB" (plans page) or "up to 10 GB" (why-Mint page) |
| Tello Unlimited ($25) | 50 GB | Slowed | — | 10 GB |
| US Mobile Unlimited Starter ($25, tax included) | Unlimited | — | — | 20 GB |
| Cricket Smart ($50) / Supreme ($60) | Unlimited | — | — | 15 GB / 50 GB, then 125 kbps |
| Cricket Select ($40, new lines only) | Unlimited | — | — | 10 GB add-on for $10 |
| Cricket Sensible 10 GB ($35) | 10 GB | 128 kbps | — | Not included |
| Cricket multi-month ($45 / 3 months) | Unlimited | — | — | Prohibited |
| Airalo "unlimited" US ($11.50 / 3 d and up) | 3 GB a day at 20 Mbps | Reduced (speed not stated) | — | Allowed. Counts against the daily cap |
| Saily "unlimited" US ($45.99 / 15 d) | 5 GB a day | Up to 1 Mbps | — | Allowed |
| Holafly US ($27.50 / 7 d and up) | Unlimited | Slowdown "no more than one day" | — | 1 GB a day |
Last verified: 1 November 2026. Ultra Mobile is not in the table. Its site blocked our reader, so we could not verify any term. The Visible Travel Pass row is empty on purpose. Its page needs JavaScript, and we found no readable source for its cap or hotspot.
Our view of this table: the headline word "unlimited" tells you little. The columns tell you more. A plan with 50 GB of premium data and a 3G hotspot is a different product from one with a 3 GB daily cap and a 20 Mbps hotspot.
What the numbers mean in practice
What a daily cap buys
Take the official Netflix figures and a daily cap of 3 GB. That is about 10 hours at Low quality, about 4 hours at Medium, 3 hours in standard definition, 1 hour in HD, or 18 hours with Save Data. A 5 GB cap is 5 hours in standard definition or 1.7 hours in HD. These sums were calculated by script.
Now compare that with the daily use in the first table. A moderate user needs about 1 GB a day. A 3 GB cap leaves 2 GB of headroom every day. So a daily cap rarely hurts light and moderate users. It hurts heavy video days, and it hurts anyone who tethers a laptop.
What the speed after a cap can carry
A slow speed is not the same as no service. Here is what a line speed can move in one hour, in ideal conditions (real speeds are lower):
- 128 kbps: about 58 MB an hour.
- 600 kbps: about 270 MB an hour.
- 1 Mbps: about 450 MB an hour.
- 3 Mbps: about 1.35 GB an hour.
- 20 Mbps: up to 9 GB an hour.
Compare these with the official figures. Spotify's Normal quality needs about 96 kbit/s, which is below 128 kbps on paper. A Zoom audio call needs 60–80 kbps. Netflix Low needs up to 0.3 GB an hour, which is about 0.67 Mbps. So 128 kbps is only enough for messages and audio. 600 kbps is below Netflix Low. About 1 Mbps would carry it. Treat these as limits, not promises.
Three worked examples
7 days, light use. You need about 4.2 GB (7 × 0.5 × 1.2). A fixed plan of 5 GB covers it. You do not need an "unlimited" product, and you do not need premium data.
14 days, moderate use. You need about 16.8 GB (14 × 1 × 1.2). A 20 GB fixed plan covers it with 3.2 GB to spare. A 15-day Airalo "unlimited" pass could carry up to 45 GB of full-speed data (3 × 15), which is far more than you need. You would pay for headroom you do not use. A T-Mobile U.S. Pass has 50 GB of premium data, which is also more than you need. Compare the prices in the cost guide.
30 days, tethering a laptop. You need about 108 GB (30 × 3 × 1.2), if the 3 GB a day assumption holds. Look at the hotspot column. T-Mobile's U.S. Pass gives 14, 20 or 28 GB of hotspot on its 7, 10 and 14-day plans. Verizon Prepaid Unlimited Plus gives 25 GB of premium hotspot and then 3 Mbps on 5G Ultra Wideband. Cricket Supreme gives 50 GB and then 125 kbps. Tello gives 10 GB and US Mobile gives 20 GB. In our table, only Visible describes its hotspot as unlimited, at 5 Mbps (10 Mbps on Visible+, 15 Mbps on Pro). At 5 Mbps, a line can move up to 2.25 GB an hour, so 108 GB takes 48 hours at full speed. Visible's sign-up for visitors is not tested. If you work from a laptop, test the plan on day one and keep a second option ready.
Common misunderstandings
- "High-speed data" and "premium data" are not the same promise. Read what the provider says happens after each one.
- Hotspot data often has its own limit. It can run out before your phone data does.
- A daily cap does not carry over. Unused data on Monday is gone on Tuesday.
- A hard throttle and a slowdown in congestion are different. A throttle is always on. A slowdown depends on the tower.
Which network: T-Mobile, AT&T or Verizon, and who resells them
The US has three main networks. Many brands rent capacity from them. The brand tells you which network you will be on.
| Network | Brands and products we saw | Status |
|---|---|---|
| T-Mobile | T-Mobile Prepaid, U.S. Pass eSIM, Mint. Airalo says it uses T-Mobile plus one other network | Mint's own pages say T-Mobile |
| AT&T | AT&T Prepaid, eSIM by AT&T. Holafly lists AT&T and T-Mobile | From each provider's pages |
| Verizon | Verizon Prepaid. Visible is a Verizon brand, and its pass press release is on Verizon's news site | Not re-checked on a Visible page |
| More than one | US Mobile says it uses all three major networks | US Mobile site |
| Not checked | Cricket, Tello, Ultra Mobile, Saily | Check each provider's FAQ |
Last verified: 1 November 2026.
Opensignal's US report for July 2026 covers 1 April to 29 June 2026. T-Mobile won 12 of 16 awards. Verizon won Coverage (score 9.7), 5G Video and 5G Live Video. AT&T won Time on Network (99.6%, against Verizon at 99.5%) (Opensignal).
What this means for a visitor: these are averages across the country, measured on phones that use the apps. They are not a promise for your route. In cities, speed and reliability scores matter more. On long drives and in national parks, coverage matters most. The Coverage award is a hint, not a map.
How to check coverage in four steps:
- Open the carrier's own coverage map for your cities and parks.
- Open the FCC National Broadband Map and switch on the mobile layer. It shows 3G, 4G and 5G coverage as reported by each provider. It shows where you should be able to connect outdoors or in a moving vehicle. It does not show indoor coverage (FCC).
- Look at the exact highways and parks on your route.
- Download offline maps as a fallback.
At a crowded stadium or festival, any network can slow down. The eSIM by AT&T page lists an optional "Turbo Live" add-on that switches on near an event. We found no price for it.
Choosing a network by trip type
Use the facts above to match the network to the trip, not the brand to the price.
- City trip, hotel Wi-Fi at night: speed and reliability matter more than reach. T-Mobile won most of the Opensignal awards in the July 2026 report, so its network is a sensible first look. Any of the three networks will cover big cities.
- Road trip across states: coverage matters most. Verizon won Opensignal's Coverage award. That is an average over many users, not a promise for your highway. Check each carrier's map and the FCC layer for your exact route.
- National parks and remote areas: do not rely on any single award. Download offline maps before you leave Wi-Fi, and tell someone your route.
- Stadium or festival day: expect slow data on any network when thousands of phones share the same cells.
If your plan runs on a reseller, check which network it uses in the table above. A cheap plan on the "wrong" network for your route is not cheap.
Will your phone get the full network? 4G, 5G, bands and VoLTE
Phones sold for other regions can lack bands that US networks use. The model number matters, not the name.
Apple's own specification pages show it. Band 71 and 5G n71 are low-band frequencies. Low bands generally travel further and go through walls better than higher bands. T-Mobile describes its "Extended Range" signal as low band (T-Mobile).
| Phone and model | LTE Band 71 listed? | 5G n71 listed? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 13, model A2633 (India) | No | No | Apple |
| iPhone 13, US model A2482 | Yes | Yes | Apple |
| iPhone 13 Pro, US models A2483 and A2484 | Yes | Yes | Apple |
| iPhone 14 Pro Max, models A2890 and A2894 | No | No | Apple (Ireland page) |
| iPhone 15, US models A2846 and A2847 | Yes | Yes | Apple |
| iPhone 15, India models A3090 and A3094 | No | No | Apple (India page) |
Last verified: 1 November 2026. Lists are as printed on Apple's pages. We did not test any phone.
A phone without Band 71 may still connect to T-Mobile on other bands. You may get weaker coverage in rural and indoor places. Say "check your exact model number". Do not assume "all iPhones work".
What the carriers publish:
- T-Mobile names "Extended Range" (low-band) and "Ultra Capacity" (mid or high band) signals. It says it cannot guarantee that devices from other carriers will work, and that the device must support its frequencies. It also asks you to check VoLTE.
- AT&T lists LTE bands 12/17/29, 5, 2, 4/66 and 30 (AT&T, page updated December 2022). Its approved-device list marks the Galaxy S20 model G981U "will work" and G981N "will NOT work".
- Verizon: we found no band list on the Verizon pages we read.
To check your phone: confirm it is unlocked, find the exact model number, look it up on the maker's page, run the IMEI through the carrier's checker, and check VoLTE. The steps are in how to check your phone and activate it step by step.
Crossing into Canada and Mexico
Some plans work across the borders. Many have limits. One trap: the T-Mobile U.S. Pass works in Canada and Mexico only after you buy and activate it in the US.
| Plan | Canada / Mexico data |
|---|---|
| T-Mobile U.S. Pass | 5 GB high-speed, includes hotspot. Up to 128 kbps after that (support-page terms). Free add-on, by SMS link or "Add Services". Data Roaming on. Activate in the US first (T-Mobile) |
| Verizon Prepaid (15 GB, Unlimited, Unlimited Plus) | Included. International data is reduced to 3G after 2 GB a day. TravelPass is $6 a day in Mexico and Canada (Verizon) |
| Cricket | Canada use cannot exceed 50% of total usage (the coverage page says over a 3-month period). The coverage page says roaming is included on unlimited plans "starting at $55/month", but the plans page prices Smart at $50. Check before you buy (Cricket) |
| Visible+ and Visible+ Pro | Data in Mexico and Canada, reduced to 3G after 2 GB a day. Visible (base) plan: Global Pass from $5 a day (Visible) |
| Mint | 3 GB high-speed data in Canada plus talk and text, on all plans (Mint). Calls to Mexico, Canada and the UK are free. Mexico data not verified |
| eSIM by AT&T North America | Data-only plans: $24.99 / 7 d, $39.99 / 15 d, $59.99 / 30 d. AT&T says it has no on-net coverage in Canada (AT&T) |
| Airalo regional North America | From $5.50 (Airalo) |
| T-Mobile Prepaid Unlimited Plus | Unlimited talk and text US–Mexico–Canada. Data not stated on the plan page |
| Tello | Free calls to both countries. Data roaming not verified |
Last verified: 1 November 2026.
Read the table as a driver would. For a short day trip across the border, the T-Mobile pass gives you 5 GB of high-speed data. That is enough for maps and messages, but a hotspot or video would use it fast, because the 5 GB includes any hotspot use. Verizon's included Canada and Mexico use is capped at 2 GB a day before it drops to 3G, which suits a few days away. Cricket's rule limits Canada use to 50% of your total use, so it is not made for living across the border. If you plan several days in Canada or Mexico, a separate North America eSIM, such as the AT&T North America plans or Airalo's regional plans, may be easier than a US plan with a border add-on. Before you cross, turn Data Roaming on for the right line, and confirm the add-on is active while you still have US signal.
Rollover, top-ups and what to do when you run out
- Tello: unused data can roll over, up to 50 GB, with a total cap of 100 GB (Tello terms).
- Holafly: a 1 GB monthly "Always On" benefit, according to its US page.
- eSIM by AT&T: top up in the app. Plans do not renew by themselves.
- Airalo: top-ups are possible "in many cases". Check the plan page.
If you run out: top up, buy a one-day pass, or use Wi-Fi and offline maps. A cheap one-day pass costs $3.99 on AT&T's eSIM page.
How to monitor and save data
iPhone.
- Settings > Cellular shows the lines. Under Cellular Data, pick the line (Apple).
- Settings > Cellular > Cellular Data Options > Data Mode > Low Data Mode.
- Cellular Data Options > Data Roaming turns roaming on or off. On a dual-SIM phone, tap the line first (Apple).
Pixel and Android.
- Settings > Network & internet > SIMs > Data warning & limit (Google).
- Settings > Network & internet > Data Saver. It lets background apps use data only on Wi-Fi (Google).
- On Samsung, roaming is under Settings > Connections > Mobile networks > Data Roaming Access (Samsung).
Streaming. Netflix's Save Data setting gives about 6 hours per GB. Download videos on hotel Wi-Fi.
Maps. Download offline maps on Wi-Fi (see above).
Low Data Mode and Data Saver are the lowest-cost fixes. Turn them on first if your plan is small.
Five questions to ask before you buy any plan
Marketing pages put the headline first and the limits last. Ask these five questions in this order, and write down the answer from the provider's own page.
- How much data is at full or priority speed? Look for "premium", "high-speed" or a daily figure. If the page only says "unlimited", keep reading until you find a number.
- What happens after that amount? Is it a fixed low speed, a slowdown only when the tower is busy, or a daily reset? Use the "After the cap" column above.
- Is hotspot included, and how big is it? A hotspot cap can be much smaller than the plan itself. For example, T-Mobile's U.S. Pass gives 2 GB of hotspot a day on its 7, 10 and 14-day plans, while its premium data is 50 GB.
- What is the video quality? If you want HD, check the video column. Several plans stream in standard definition, and Verizon's pages disagree on 480p and 4K.
- Does it work where you are going? Check Canada and Mexico, check the network, and check the coverage map for your route.
If a provider page does not answer a question, treat it as unknown. Ask the provider's chat before you pay, and keep the answer. Several of the unknowns in this article (the Visible Travel Pass cap, Mint's Mexico data, Verizon's band list) are exactly this kind of gap.
Decision rules
- You mainly use maps and messages: a 3 to 5 GB fixed plan is enough for about a week. Do not pay for "unlimited".
- You stream video every day: choose a plan with a large premium bucket (T-Mobile 50 GB, Verizon Unlimited Plus 50 GB) over a daily-cap eSIM. 3 GB a day is about one hour of HD video.
- You tether a laptop: read the hotspot column first. The hotspot cap is usually the limit that bites, not the plan data.
- You drive through remote areas or parks: do not assume the lowest-priced network works. Check carrier maps and the FCC mobile layer for your route. Download offline maps.
- You want the widest coverage claim: Verizon led Opensignal's Coverage award in the July 2026 report. T-Mobile won most other categories. Neither is a guarantee for your route.
- Your phone is a non-US model: run the checks above before you buy a plan that depends on low-band coverage.
- You cross into Canada or Mexico: use the table above. Activate the T-Mobile pass in the US first.
For prices, see the total cost of each option for 7, 14 and 30 days. Affiliate links are in that guide.
FAQ
How many GB do I need per day in the USA? Vendor estimates are 0.5 GB for light use, 1 GB for moderate use and 2 GB or more for heavy use. We have no measured numbers yet.
Is 5 GB enough for a week? For maps, messages and light browsing, often yes. With daily video or tethering, no.
What does "deprioritised" mean? Will my speed drop? After your premium data, other users get priority when a cell is busy. On a quiet tower you may notice no change.
Does T-Mobile throttle after 50 GB? The plan page says speeds may be slower in congestion after 50 GB of premium data. It is not a fixed hard throttle.
Can I use my phone as a hotspot on a tourist plan? Sometimes. See the hotspot column. Travel eSIM caps count tethering against the daily allowance (Airalo).
Does my US plan work in Canada or Mexico? See the Canada and Mexico table. The T-Mobile pass needs activation in the US first.
Which US network is best for tourists? It depends on where you go. T-Mobile won most Opensignal awards in July 2026, and Verizon won Coverage. Check your own route.
Will my European phone work on US 5G? It depends on the exact model and its bands. Use the band section and a carrier IMEI check.
What speed do I need for video calls? Zoom lists 600 kbps up and down for high-quality 1:1 video and 1.2 Mbps up and down for 720p HD. A call at 600 kbps uses about 0.54 GB an hour in both directions. So a 128 kbps post-cap speed is too slow for video calls.
Why does the same plan show two different hotspot numbers? Providers sometimes publish different numbers on different pages. Mint shows 20 GB on its plans page and 10 GB on its why-Mint page. AT&T shows 5 GB on its eSIM page and in its terms, and 5 to 15 GB on its support page. Take the lower number as your planning figure, and ask the provider before you rely on the higher one.
Method, last-verified date and change log
We read the provider pages on 1 November 2026. We did not buy any plan, and we did not run speed tests, data-use tests or phone tests. We label vendor blogs as vendor blogs. Where two pages of one provider disagree, we show both.
Change log
- 2026-11-01: First version.
Sources
All pages read 2026-11-01.
- T-Mobile, U.S. Pass eSIM plans — https://prepaid.t-mobile.com/prepaid-plans/esim-usa-travel-plans
- T-Mobile Prepaid plans — https://prepaid.t-mobile.com/prepaid-plans
- T-Mobile support, Prepaid eSIM app and terms — https://www.t-mobile.com/support/plans-features/t-mobile-esim-app
- T-Mobile, IMEI check — https://prepaid.t-mobile.com/connect/bring-your-own-phone/imei-check
- AT&T, eSIM by AT&T — https://www.att.com/international/esim-by-att
- AT&T, eSIM by AT&T terms and conditions — https://www.att.com/legal/terms.eSIM-by-ATT-TurboLive.html
- AT&T, LTE bands (page updated December 2022) — https://www.att.com/support/article/wireless/KM1008740/
- AT&T approved-device list (PDF, November 2022) — https://www.att.com/scmsassets/images/support/pdf/Devices-Working-on-ATT-Network.pdf
- Verizon Prepaid plans — https://www.verizon.com/prepaid/plans/phone-plans/
- Visible plans — https://www.visible.com/plans
- Mint plans — https://www.mintmobile.com/plans/ ; Mint, Canada roaming — https://www.mintmobile.com/help/free-roaming-canada/
- Tello plans — https://tello.com/buy/custom_plans ; Tello terms — https://tello.com/terms
- US Mobile plans — https://www.usmobile.com/plans
- Cricket plans — https://www.cricketwireless.com/support/plans-and-features/plans ; Cricket, Mexico and Canada — https://www.cricketwireless.com/support/international-calling/coverage-in-mexico-and-canada
- Airalo, unlimited packages — https://www.airalo.com/m/esim/unlimited-packages ; Airalo, USA eSIM — https://www.airalo.com/united-states-esim
- Saily, USA eSIM — https://saily.com/esim-united-states/
- Holafly, USA eSIM — https://esim.holafly.com/esim-usa/
- Netflix, data use — https://help.netflix.com/en/node/87
- Zoom, bandwidth requirements — https://support.zoom.com/hc/en/article?id=zm_kb&sysparm_article=KB0060748
- Spotify, audio quality — https://support.spotify.com/us/article/audio-quality/
- Google Maps, offline maps — https://support.google.com/maps/answer/6291838
- Apple, iPhone cellular data settings — https://support.apple.com/guide/iphone/view-or-change-cellular-data-settings-iph3dd5f213/ios ; Apple, roaming — https://support.apple.com/en-us/109037
- Google, Pixel — https://support.google.com/pixelphone/answer/2819524 ; https://support.google.com/pixelphone/answer/7055392
- Samsung, data roaming — https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS10002914/
- Apple band lists — https://support.apple.com/kb/SP851?locale=en_IN ; https://support.apple.com/en-us/111872 ; https://support.apple.com/en-us/111871 ; https://support.apple.com/en-ie/111846 ; https://support.apple.com/en-us/111831 ; https://support.apple.com/en-in/111831
- Opensignal, USA Mobile Network Experience, July 2026 — https://insights.opensignal.com/reports/2026/07/usa/mobile-network-experience
- FCC, how to use the National Broadband Map — https://help.bdc.fcc.gov/hc/en-us/articles/10467446103579-How-to-Use-the-FCC-s-National-Broadband-Map
- Vendor blog: GigSky — https://www.gigsky.com/blog/how-many-gb-of-data-do-i-need-for-travel-without-running-out-abroad
- Vendor blog: Lyca Mobile — https://www.lycamobile.us/blog/en/roaming-tips-for-travelers-how-much-data-do-you-really-need/
- Vendor blog: Jetpac — https://www.jetpacglobal.com/blog/how-much-mobile-data-do-you-need-for-travel/